GERMAN SHEPHERD DOG CLUB OF MINNEAPOLIS AND ST. PAUL

Membership Meeting Minutes - Annual Meeting Part II

Feb. 6, 2016; 1:00 p.m. Lake Elmo Inn Events Center, Lake Elmo, MN

Officers present:

Peggy Simerson, President Eileen Varhalla, Vice President Sarah Falk, Secretary Diane Blasius-Brown, Treasurer

Officers absent:

None

Board Members present:

Denise Gilbertson Rhonda Meath Ann Jeddeloh

Board Members absent:

None

Peggy Simerson reconvened the Annual Meeting at 1:30 p.m.

President's Report (Peggy Simerson):

- Peggy thanked the members, the Board and the volunteers for a great year.
- Shortly after Peggy reconvened the meeting and began speaking, three people yelled "Bingo". Rhonda verified their cards and they won a prize. This trend continued throughout the meeting; even after prizes were no longer available :
- Peggy discussed goals that we worked on in 2015 and would continue to support in 2016:
 - Transparency of the Board
 - Breaking down barriers
 - o Participation
- Peggy appointed the 2016 Counting Committee as Sarah Falk, Cathy McKeon and Jeff Rapacz serving as the non-member. The Counting Committee took all the ballots that Diane Blasius-Brown had received via mail and all ballots that had been turned in at the Banquet. The Counting Committee counted votes as the Awards and plaques were given out to the membership for their achievements.
- Awards and plaques distributed by Mada Skare. Thank you Mada!
- Peggy announced that the Membership voted to dedicate a show at the 2016 Specialty Show to the memory of member Roger Kofstad. Verna Kubik said a few words to honor Roger, and we had a moment of silence to honor and remember him.

- Peggy announced that the Don Cliff Award would be given out at the 2016 National Specialty in between shows on Saturday; the nomination process would be included in the Shep-O-Gram (nominees are due April 1).
- Peggy distributed awards to key members for their contribution over the year; Pam Magadance for heading the Regional Club Challenge; Julie Swinland and Sue Smith for the Shep-O-Gram; Rhonda Meath for her work as Agility Trials Chair; Pam Magadance, Julie Swinland and Virginia Bailey for Herding Trial Co-chairs; Verna Kubik and Cristina McColl for Chairing the largest 2015 Futurity/Maturity show in the country along with our summer Specialty Show, Ann Jeddeloh and Laurie Schray for their work as Hospitality Chair, Verna Kubik for her work as Training Director, Ron and Ann Halling for their work on the Socialization and Obedience Workshops; Amber Eisfeld for her Training expertise; Cindy Muehlbauer for Membership Chair, Mike Metz for Budget and Finance Committee, Mada Skare for the Awards, the entire Board was recognized for their dedication throughout the year, and the President's Award was given to Sarah Falk for her work on keeping the membership informed through emails (the Weekly Update) and Facebook.
- Peggy thanked Rhonda Meath and Ann Jeddeloh for putting together the banquet, and to Mada for all her work on the awards. Verna moved that we reserve the Lake Elmo Inn Event Center for next year's banquet. Craig Carson seconded. Motion carried.
- 2016 Officers (election results) were announced:
 - President Peggy Simerson
 - o Vice President Eileen Varhalla
 - Secretary Sarah Falk
 - Treasurer Diane Blasius-Brown
 - o Board Member Rhonda Meath (current year remaining of two-year term)
 - o Board Member Starting a two-year term: Denise Gilbertson
 - o Board Member Starting a one-year term: Ann Jeddeloh

Craig Carson moved to destroy the ballots. Dave Bissonette seconded. Motion carried.

Peggy gave the microphone back to Rhonda who announced the raffle prizes were going to be announced.

Craig Carson moved to adjourn the meeting. Verna seconded. Motion carried. Meeting was adjourned at 2:15 p.m. Minutes submitted by Sarah Falk, Secretary.

Attendees (including, but not limited to):

Peggy Simerson Eileen Varhalla Denise Gilbertson **Greg Biskey** Diane Blasius-Brown Sarah Falk Rhonda Meath Cristina McColl Mada Skare Eileen Varhalla Ann Jeddeloh Verna Kubik **Greg Scott** Virginia Bailey Cindy Muehlbauer Julie Swinland Carla Scott Tressa Henrichs Lisa Cirks-Veit Stephanie Stiegerwald Yvonne Nygaard Carol Pryzbilla Lisa Lunde Katie Lunde Liz Lunde Conni Sokolouski Cathy McKeon

Craig Carson Bobby Moore
Volker Schray Jennifer Johnston

Carol Ouhl Larry

Zoa Rockenstein Bettyann Pappenfus

Sharon Todoroff Mary Bente
Ann Halling Mike Cashman
Elaine Matthys Ken Jeddeloh
Kathy DuVall Karlyn Berg

Melissa McIntyre Marilyn Lindsey-Miller

Member Applicants:

Chris Klein and Jennifer Hesselink Heidi Murphy

Guests:

Lisa Putnam
Jeff Rapacz
Amber Stewart
Amber Eisfeld
Kelly (training apprentice!)

Laurie Schray Waltraud Brogen Tom Carlson

Nancy Westerlund

Ron Halling

Julie Northenscold Pam Magadance

Sue Smith Lindsay Reidt