GERMAN SHEPHERD DOG CLUB OF MINNEAPOLIS AND ST. PAUL

November Membership Meeting Minutes Nov. 11, 2016

Animal Inn in Lake Elmo, MN

Officer Attendees:

Peggy Simerson Eileen Varhalla Sarah Falk Diane Blasius-Brown

Board Member Attendees:

Ann Jeddeloh Denise Gilbertson

Board Members Absent:

None.

Meeting called to order at 8:30. Mike Metz moved to dispense with the reading of the minutes from the October meeting and the Minutes be approved as disseminated. Bill Duffy seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Officer's Reports

President's Report (Peggy Simerson):

• Anita Secord will be helping with desk and coordinating future efforts and schedules.

Vice President's Report (Eileen Varhalla):

• No report.

Secretary's Report (Sarah Falk):

• No report.

Treasurer's Report (Diane Blasius Brown):

• \$23,224.41 in Checking and \$10,864.43 in Savings = \$34,088.84 Total

Committee Reports

Membership (Cindy Muehlbauer)

• Membership renewals are due. Invoices were resent.

Banquet (Rhonda Meath)

- Banquet is Jan. 21, 2017. Reservations are due by Jan. 7, 2017.
- Need awards to Mada Skare by Dec. 27.
- Sarah Falk moved that the Club pays \$5 per person for members. Cristina McColl seconded. Motion carried.
- Mada Skare moved \$1,500 budget for fun prizes. Eileen Varhalla seconded. Motion carried.

New Business (Peggy Simerson)

- Need a nominating committee for 2017. Reviewed current officer intentions for 2017:
 - Peggy Simerson announced her intention to re-run for President
 - Sarah announced her intention to re-run for Secretary
 - Diane announced she will not re-run for Treasurer but she will on-board someone
 - o Eileen announced she will not re-run for Vice President
 - Ann's term is up for Board member
 - Denise has one year remaining on her current term for Board member
 - Rhonda's Board member position is open per her recent resignation

Bylaws and Standing Rules (Sarah Falk)

- Thank you to the committee made up Ginny Altman, Julie Swinland, Rhonda Meath and Peggy Simerson. The committee has met several times for hours each time to carefully scrutinize the current documents and make recommendations for the betterment of the Club. Some changes were made with respect to style, formatting or moving content to Standing Rules from Bylaws.
- Sarah reviewed all other proposed changes for review by the Membership.
 - o Bylaws:
 - Bylaws were reviewed. Mike Metz moved we accept the changes. Bobby Moore seconded the motion. Show of hands carried the 2/3 vote requirement. Motion carried.
 - Mike commented that we should make sure that we encourage membership participation with the amended membership applicant requirements. Peggy mentioned a volunteer coordinator is something she has been working on with Holly Bryan.
 - Standing Rules:
 - In section VII Annual Dinner, Mike Metz moved a change to the proposed change of "all unpaid instructors and a companion for each shall be guests of the Club at the annual Membership Dinner" to "all Member instructors shall be guests of the Club at the annual Membership Dinner". Sarah Falk seconded. Show of hands carried the 2/3 vote requirement. Motion carried.
 - During the review of the Training section and discussion, Mike recommended we have some future discussion around when expulsion from a training event might be required.

- In section VIII Honor Roll and Awards Mike Metz moved a changed to the proposed change to strike the full sentence starting with, "Examples include.....". Diane Blasius-Brown seconded the motion. Show of hands carried the 2/3 vote requirement. Motion carried. As a result, we will need to create an Awards committee.
- Mike Metz moved to approve the balance of the Standing Rules with the discussed changes and Bobbi Smith seconded. Show of hands carried the 2/3 vote requirement. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 9:45. Cindy moved to adjourn and Eileen Varhalla seconded. Motion carried. Next meeting is Dec. 9.

Attendees:

Allenuees.		
Eileen Varhalla	Sarah Falk	Denise Gilbertson
Diane Blasius Brown	Peggy Simerson	Anika Secord
Bobby Moore	Cindy Muelhlbauer	Cristina McColl
Laurie Schray	Bobbi Smith	Larua Meyer
Julie Swinland	Rhonda Meath	Mike Metz
Sheila Metz	Bill Duffy	Ginny Altman
Stephanie Stiegerwald	Mada Skare	Katie Skare
Member Applicants		
Laura Hereweyer	Eli Duffy	